8 Comments

Thank you. This made me cry as it’s all so familiar and I’m still working on shedding the guilt and shame I feel at having listened to such bloody awful advice. We finally got clear and removed our child from mainstream school. They are now thriving in a supportive, compassionate, self-directed learning environment. Hope has been restored and the future no longer inspires fear and worry. The kid who had anxiety and over attachment has just now, aged 14, been diagnosed as having autism. In one way, this is something we kinda knew so it’s a relief to know now for sure and we can seek more appropriate support. In another, it makes the advice given from psychiatrists and psychologists in the past even more infuriating! Thank you for sharing these oh so important words and insights. The struggle with school can be such a lonely place for many and it really helps to know that no one is alone in this experience. 💖💖💖

Expand full comment

So good. But how do we change the system? How do we convince those in power of this and bring about change?

Expand full comment

What are we to do in the meantime while waiting for change? Traditional school is too much for my daughter now that she’s in middle school. Both parents work so how do we homeschool? I don’t making her go. We were forcing her until she started to run. I was done after that. It’s just not good for her to be in school in that mental state—fight or flight for the majority of the day.

Expand full comment

This did male me cry . The system at school is causing my 12 year old and myself such distress. I'm telling staff my child feels like he is suffocating and feels trapped he is exhausted and the school tell me his " bad behaviour " is choice behaviour. We are at breaking point.

Expand full comment

Feel this so deeply. We pressed for 1.5 yrs and my kid fell apart every morning and it took me a long time to trust that his distress/traumatic nervous system activation constantly, on repeat, was so not ok that it far outweighed the pressures to 'attend.' Cost too high. We are finding footing now. It is ok for our kids to feel ok instead of doing a harmful and poorly designed systemic thing!

Expand full comment

Wildly accurate and refreshing. Thank you.

Expand full comment

For some students the bullying they are experiencing in school appears to be the reason for their unhappiness in school and seems out of their locus of control.

Expand full comment